Juicing!

We started juicing on Saturday. Never one to eat my vegetables, I was extremely skeptical. Drinking only juice for 3 days seemed not only tough, but impossible to me, since I have derby practice for 2 hours most nights of the week.

IMG_1202

The first day wasn’t too bad – we drank hot water with lemon in the morning and drank about 5 different juices throughout the day.

IMG_1205

The next day was awful. I swear I was hallucinating at some point. All I could think about was food. I tried to focus on the health benefits, but it was really not helping much at all.

IMG_1217

IMG_1219

Later that night, I had derby practice, and knew I wasn’t going to be able to skate without some energy to help me. I was afraid I would pass out on the rink, so I stopped for some chicken nuggets on the way there. After that, I felt awesome. I mean, who doesn’t feel awesome after eating chicken nuggets?

On the third day, I went back to juicing, but was extremely hungry again by the evening. All in all, it wasn’t a bad idea, but just not very doable for an active lifestyle. We now try to juice at least 1x a day in order to get the extra nutrients that don’t fit into our daily meals.

Pulp

As an added bonus, we get extra compost to use for the garden this year!

Leave a Comment

